ICC World T20 European Qualification 2018

29th August 2018Gibraltar Div 111am Hazelaarweg Stadium, Rotterdam
30th August 2018Israel Div 111am Sportpark Thurlede, Schiedam
1st September 2018Sweden Div 1 11am Sportpark Westvliet, The Hague
1st September 2018Norway Div 13pm Sportpark Westvliet, The Hague
2nd September 2018Czech Republic Div 111am Sportpark Westvliet, The Hague

 ‘Guernsey get the luck of the draw’    by Rob Batiste (Guernsey Press)

Guernsey have to grab their chance of reaching the ICC World T20 Europe Final with both hands, says coach Ash Wright following the draw for this summer’s qualifiers. The Sarnians are the only one of the five seeds in the qualifiers to have been drawn in Group C and they face Gibraltar, Sweden, Czech Republic, Israel and Norway at the event, which takes place in the Netherlands from 29 August to 3 September.

The top two in the group at the end of the round-robin event will advance to the ICC World T20 Europe Final. ‘I’m not sure how they have done the groups but it looks a lot nicer than the one we had for World Cricket League Five,’ said Wright. ‘That does not mean we can take our foot off the gas because all these countries are getting stronger and in T20 it takes only one over to change a game. We have to make sure that we work hard to be on top of our game and make the most of this opportunity.’

Jersey have been drawn in Group B along with fellow seeded nation Italy as well as Belgium, Spain, Isle of Man and Finland. Denmark are the top-ranked nation in Group A and they will be facing Germany, France, Austria, Cyprus and Portugal. The European Qualifier and Final are part of a new, simplified qualification process for ICC global events that provides a merit-based pathway for every member announced by the ICC earlier this week.  As well as reducing the number of steps towards a global event, the new process also provides more regular competitive opportunities for more members with the ultimate aim of increasing the number of competitive teams in T20 cricket. The 18 teams will have an opportunity to join the four other European nations – England, Ireland, Scotland and Netherlands – who have already qualified for the ICC World T20 or the ICC T20 Global Qualifier.

‘It sis incredibly exciting to see 22 European nations challenging for spots in the ICC World T20 2020,’ said ICC regional development manager Europe Ed Shuttleworth. ‘Eighteen of these teams will start their journey in the Netherlands on 29 August with the remainder joining in 2019 or 2020 itself. The number of national teams competing is evidence of the expansion of cricket across Europe and we look forward to this wonderful celebration of European cricket.’


Comments are closed.